UPAA in Bukidnon elects new officers

The University of the Philippines Alumni Association (UPAA) Bukidnon Chapter elected new sets of officers in a meeting on January 18 at the Central Mindanao University campus in Musuan, Maramag, Bukidnon.

CMU’s Dr. Luzviminda Simborio, the outgoing UPAA chapter treasurer, was elected president, replacing outgoing president BSU’s Dr. Estela Itaas.

The chapter held a convocation, fellowship, and general assembly meeting at the College of Veterinary Medicine Hall in CMU with the theme: “UP Alumni: Centennial Grand Hurrah”.

Two vice presidents were elected: businessman Rueul Gallo for central Bukidnon and CMU’s Mae Flor Prantilla for southern Bukidnon.

Lawyer Tala Tambaoan was elected secretary while CMU’s Dr. Cecilia Amoroso was chosen as the new treasurer.

DTI provincial director Ermie Abang was elected auditor. Journalist Walter Balane and Casisang Malaybalay City kagawad Mya Rosos were elected as public relation officers.

For the board of directors the following were elected: Engr. Leo Limbo and Dr. Edralina “Eddy” Santiago (for central Bukidnon). Dr. Zenaida Caintic and Dr. Raquel Espiritu (for southern Bukidnon). Dr. Itaas, immediate past president, automatically becomes a member of the board.

Former CMU president Isabelo Alcordo, a UP Alumnus himself and an invited speaker inducted the new officers. CMU officer-in-charge Dr. Rodrigo Malunhao was invited but was not able to attend.

Dr. Remy Barreto, outgoing chapter secretary, said there are at least a hundred members of the association as of press time.

UPAA Bukidnon chapter was organized in 1913, five years after the University of the Philippines was founded in 1908. (Bukidnon Our Home)